Kendal resident receives top quality care

Top-Quality Care

Kendal strives to enhance the quality of life for residents and staff. Kendal staff are continually improving their skills and keeping up with state-of-the-art practices, with a special focus on conditions related to aging.


Senior Living Accreditation

When a Life Plan Community or nursing care center is accredited, you know that organization has passed an in-depth, on-site review of its services by outside reviewers, that it conforms to nationally recognized service standards and that it is focused on continuous improvement.

Kendal is a pioneer in the process of accreditation. Lloyd Lewis was the founding Executive Director of Kendal at Longwood, the first CCRC in the Kendal System, which is no longer affiliated. In the late 1970s, he led a group of CCRC leaders in crafting a set of accreditation standards. Focusing on governance and administration, as well as financial and contract transparency, the process was designed to help both communities and consumers measure the performance and value of individual communities within the rapidly growing CCRC field.

Lloyd’s small group of CCRC leaders shared their idea with LeadingAge (then AAHA), which broadened the program nationwide in 1985 under the name the Continuing Care Accreditation Commission (CCAC). In 2003, CCAC was acquired by and eventually fully integrated within the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF).

CARF Accreditation

Founded in 1966, CARF is an international, independent, nonprofit accreditor of human service providers and networks, including senior living accreditation. CARF helps service providers improve the quality of their services by meeting internationally recognized organizational and program standards.

Accreditation is a public commitment indicating that a Life Plan Community strives to:

  • Involve residents and their families in planning services.
  • Respect individual cultural preferences.
  • Be accountable to funding sources, referral agencies and the community at large.
  • Address health and safety concerns, such as building safety and emergency preparedness.
  • Maintain management practices that are efficient, cost-effective and based on outcomes and consumer satisfaction.

Nursing Care Center Accreditation

Accreditation by The Joint Commission can be earned by many types of health care organizations, including nursing care centers. The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval is a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to providing safe and effective care.

During its review, Joint Commission expert surveyors evaluate compliance with nursing care center standards related to several areas, including assistance with activities of daily living, coordination of care and staff education and training. Surveyors also conduct on-site observations and interviews with leaders and staff of the organization. The accreditation and certifications are awarded for a 3-year period.